Museums in Karnataka

The museums of Karnataka are repositories of the state's glorious history. Remnants of the bygone eras have been carefully preserved in the Karnataka museums. Besides sculpture and artifacts belonging to the ancient ages, the museums in Karnataka exhibit traditional paintings.

Folklore Museum, Mysore
Gandhi Bhavan, Bangalore
Government Museum, Banglore
Government Museum, Basavakalyana, Bidar District
Srimanthi Bai Memorial Government Museum, Bijai
Government Museum, Rangaiahna Bagilu, Chitradurga
Government Museum, Hassan
Government Museum, Hoovina Hadagali, Bellary
Government Museum, Gadag
Government Museum, Gulbarga
Government Museum, Madikeri
Government Museum, Raichur
Government Museum, Shivappanayaka Palace, Shimoga
HAL heritage and Aerospace Museum, Bangalore
Hampi Archaeological Museum
Hastha Shilpa Heritage Village
Legends Motorcycle Museum, Bangalore
Janapada Loka, Mysore
Jayachamarajendra Art Gallery, Mysore
Karnataka Folk Museum, Bangalore
Kavishila Museum, Teerthahalli
Keladi Museum, Shimoga
Kempegowda Museum, Banglore
K.R.C.M. Government Museum, Kittur
Law Museum, Bangalore
Madras Sappers Museum & Archives, Bangalore
Manjusha Museum, Dharmastala
Museum of Anatomy and Pathology, Manipal
Mysore Rail Museum, Mysore
NIMHANS Brain Museum, Bangalore
Philatelic Museum, Bangalore
Regional Museum of Natural History, Mysore
Sculpture Gallery, Badami
Shashwati Meseum, Bangalore
Tipu Sultan Museum, Srirangapatna
Visvesvaraya Industrial and Technological Museum, Bangalore

Archaeological Survey of India

The Archaeological Survey of India is an Indian government agency attached to the Ministry of Culture that is responsible for archaeological research and the conservation and preservation of cultural monuments in the country. It was founded in 1861 by Alexander Cunningham who also became its first Director-General. The Archaeological Survey of India is an attached office of the Ministry of Culture. Under the provisions of the AMASR Act of 1958, the ASI administers more than 3650 ancient monuments, archaeological sites and remains of national importance. These can include everything from temples, mosques, churches, tombs, and cemeteries to palaces, forts, step-wells, and rock-cut caves. The Survey also maintains ancient mounds and other similar sites which represent the remains of ancient habitation.

The ASI is headed by a Director General who is assisted by an Additional Director General, two Joint Directors General, and 17 Directors.